Skip to main content

Turkey ousts three German journalists

Turkey ousts three German journalists

After national, Erdogan govt hits at international media
RSF has labelled Erdogan as a “press freedom predator”

After several curbs on the national media in Turkey, the Erdogan government has rejected accreditation for three German journalists in the country. 

The BBC reports that the three were rejected press accreditation in a bid to curb the international media’s coverage of the country. 

The three journalists are:

  • Thomas Seibert, Tagesspiegel reporter
  • Jörg Brase, ZDF bureau chief
  • Halil Gülbeyaz, NDR TV journalist

Gulbeyaz has earlier been jailed on charges of espionage. 

Last year, the BBC had reported that 13 journalists had been jailed under terror charges. The convicted persons included a newspaper’s chief editor and publisher. They were accused of supporting an attempted coup by an ultra-left outfit led by cleric Fetullah Gulen.

the global press freedom NGO, Reporters Sans Frontiers, has ranked Turkey 151 amongst 180 countries in its Press Freedom Index.



Standard (Image)
Photo: RSF